Miracle Berries

If I had one wish it would be to have an unlimited supply of miracle berries.  Then I could spend all day every day impressing my friends with my tabasco sauce chugging ability. Meals would all consist of things I hate to eat, and I would love it. I would eat habanero peppers whenever I was slightly hungry. Yes, the world would be a different place. Thanks to science this entire fantasy is possible, I just need to find a miracle berry stash.

It may seem like fiction that there is a chemical called miraculin in these berries that affects taste buds to make things taste differently, but I can assure you it’s not. Miraculin reacts with the sweet taste receptors on your tongue and makes them respond to sour foods. This is a naturally occurring event, but can now be harnessed and put into pill form. Just dissolve a tablet on your tongue and get ready for one hour of enjoyable lemon-sucking (or whatever you choose to eat).

The berries originated in West Africa, where French explorer and cartographer found natives chewing on the berries before meals and discovered their wonderful use for taste-alteration. Of course they have to grow in Africa, we never get anything cool around here. I guess I’ll just have to stick to cranberries (which would probably taste great with some miracle berries).

Well I’m going to start my trek to West Africa, so I have to get going but I’ll see you next week,

Erik

Leave a Reply

