Meet Amy Volkmann!

        My name is Amy Volkmann, I am a junior at UMass Amherst, and I am from Taunton, MA.  I am a biology major, with hopes to continue my education and go into the medical field. I spend most of my time in class or studying on the 23rd floor of the W.E.B. Du Bois library, it has the best view of campus! I am also studying to become an EMT. During my free time you will find me at the gym, working, or spending time with my friends. Also, one of my absolute favorite things to do is to go to concerts, I am obsessed with electronic dance music. 
        The main reason I joined the MAS is because I simply love science! My classes at UMass have allowed me to study many aspects of STEM, but I also enjoy STEM out of the classroom. Even though I am studying biology, I like to learn about herpetology and modern advances in space technology.  For example, I am in love with Monty the MAS’s ball python, and I think the recent the space jump and the Curiosity rover on Mars are extremely cool.  Even though traditionally we think STEM eduction is only in school, STEM is crucial to every aspect of life, and I think that is important for everyone. This is my first semester at the MAS and I am most excited to take care of the animals! I am also really looking forward to contributing as much as I can to the organization, I think it’s going to be a great semester!

Leave a Reply

